Cake and Sympathy

February 16, 2012 § Leave a comment

This past week, the father of a friend of mine had to undergo open heart surgery.  It was a rather unexpected development, and has shaken the family.  Though he came through the surgery with flying colors, his recovery will take some time, and his health will be priority number one for some time.

To take some stress away from the family, I decided to send up some food.  This is a natural instinct for me, and for many southerners as well.  Food is comfort.  By giving a meal, you take some stress off that family.

Since this family resides up in New Jersey, I was at a loss as to how I could give them my food/comfort.  Luckily, my friend and his wife are heading up there to assist in the recovery effort.  Huzzah!

I tried to think of something that would travel well and also last a decent amount of time.  The idea came to me almost instantly: Smitten Kitchen’s blood orange olive oil cake!  Olive oil is very heart healthy, and blood oranges are beautiful (and currently in season.)  Plus, I feel that cake is particularly well suited for recovery.  You can’t be sad while eating cake.  Cake is happy food.  Happiness is always needed and appreciated for a speedy recovery.

I got this recipe (exactly) from SmittenKitchen, so I don’t feel the need to include the recipe.

However, I would like to know what y’all like to make (or eat) when you or someone you know is feeling ill.

Please do leave comments.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cake and Sympathy at I, Tex-Pat.

meta

