Cinnamon Mocha Ice Cream

March 2, 2012 § 2 Comments

Something y’all may not realize about me: I love making ice cream.  Last summer, I went out and bought an ice cream maker.  I have not regretted this decision.  I like making wacky flavors, using herbs, and experimenting with technique.  Having an ice cream maker also eliminates all the weird looks one gets from cashiers when one buys pint after pint of Ben & Jerry’s.  Not that I buy multiple pints of Ben & Jerry’s at a time.  It gets expensive.  Also, my waist starts protesting.

Another thing I am slightly obsessed with: mochas with cinnamon.  And chocolate with cinnamon.  Basically, anything chocolate must also have cinnamon.  This is the rule.  However, not all cinnamon-y things require chocolate.  I’ll get a math person to figure out the equation.

But the cinnamon mocha, friends, is one of the most delicious coffee beverages ever.  Take a simple mocha, preferably one made by your favorite local coffee shop, and add a shot of cinnamon syrup.  The end product is close to perfection.

As much as I love both of these things, they are not the reason I decided to make ice cream this week.  For the past month, I’ve had three Mexican vanilla beans quietly sitting in my spice cabinet.  I’ve never used vanilla beans; I’ve only ever used extract.  So, I’ve been thinking about the best way to experiment with the strength of beans versus extract.  Ice cream, duh.

Then I just started throwing stuff in a pot.  This is how most of my experiments go.  Though they do not often turn out quite this tasty.

Bask in the creamy deliciousness

Cinnamon Mocha Ice Cream

1 C heavy cream

2 C half and half or whole milk

2/3 C sugar

2 tsp instant espresso powder

1/2 tsp coffee extract

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/2 vanilla bean pod, seeds scraped out

3/4 disk of Abuelita Mexican hot cocoa

Make sure your ice cream maker is completely frozen.

On very low heat, in a large saucepan, whisk together everything but the cocoa sections.  Add in the cocoa sections, stirring slowly so the chocolate melts completely.  Once everything is incorporated, turn off the heat, remove the vanilla bean,* and chill the mixture in the fridge for at least 4 hours, or overnight.

Is your ice cream maker still frozen?  Yes?  Good.  Make the ice cream according to the directions on your machine.  Mine takes 20 minutes, from liquid to soft serve.

This recipe makes around a quart of ice cream, and since there are not really any preservatives in it, it’s not going to last as long as store bought.  If it even sticks around that long.  I mean, come on, it’s cinnamon mocha ice cream.

*If you let it dry out a touch, you can pop it in your sugar canister and have vanilla sugar.  It’s delicious.

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to Cinnamon Mocha Ice Cream

  • HRob says:

    Math person here.

    A Venn diagram would suit your purposes. Something like

    {Cinnamon (Chocolate) Cinnamon}

    So thats a big Cinnamon circle with a smaller chocolate circle inside.

    Alternatively you could say let Ci be all foods containing Cinnamon and let Ch be all foods containing chocolate. Then

    Ch \subset Ci

    I can’t figure out how to do the subset here.

    Yay math and ice cream!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cinnamon Mocha Ice Cream at I, Tex-Pat.

meta

